top of page
  • micahwegeleben

6 - Where Am I Going?

As I look further into history to take note of the effects different technologies had on the way the youth was taught, I am taking special care to consider non-digital technologies as well. For example, before the pencil had been invented, students used quills and reed pens [1]. It is interesting to see how the advancement of technologies to aid writing helped students write quicker and take notes in fast-paced lectures that quills simply wouldn't allow. Similarly, schools have begun to phase out teaching cursive in favor of typing. Cursive is becoming a skill of the past as its original intent was to aid students in writing faster, which typing accomplishes to the nth degree.


I'm beginning to theorize potential research avenues as well. While I have not yet looked into them, I am already questioning the impacts of the modern library system and use of textbooks on education, and how it has risen the bar for what students learn. While this may not necessarily be a technology that is core to my paper, I may find it to be a valuable topic that can broaden my understanding of my thesis.


With my research kicking off I'm beginning to think about what plan I will follow. The standard plan is as follows:

week 1: topic (done)

week 2: thesis (done)

weeks 3-4: searching (now)

weeks 4-5: reading and evaluating

weeks 6-8: outlining and drafting

week 9: draft, presentation

week 10: paper, publication


Looking week by week, I've determined it lines up fairly well with what I picture in my mind. I spent the majority of the first week planning out and fleshing out my topic, and the second week working that topic into a thesis question: what technologies have had the greatest impact on the way students are taught? That means I am in the searching phase now, and I will be doing just that!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

21 Week 10 Progress Report

Where should you be in your research journey? Are you there? I have completed my research journey. With my paper complete and a...

20 - Week 9 Journal

Q: What advantages does research offer to the decision-maker over seat-of-the-pants decision making? A: To answer this question, I want...

Comments


bottom of page