top of page
  • micahwegeleben

5 - New Terms

While exploring and scanning, note at least three new terms you either have not heard before or have seen but do not really understand. Look up those words and provide a meaningful dialogue that explains the terms in the context of your research topic.


For my topic of the effects of technology on education, I decided to look toward ChatGPT as a method of delving into the topic for lesser-known ideas. I did not, however, use this platform to learn information on them. ChatGPT introduced to me a few concepts: gamification and MOOCs.


For the first new term, Gamification, I assumed I already had a bit of a grasp on what that might be. Over time I have noticed a trend in education outside of the classroom to treat learning like a game. For example, Duolingo. Upon researching the term, though, I found the definition by EdTech [1] to be "Gamification in education connects to the use of game-like elements, like earning points, achieving levels, and competing with others in a virtual learning setting." Going back to my research topic, I would claim that the technology affecting education here is computers in general. Students now have this brain that can "track" games for them and education can take advantage of that, while decades ago this was simply not possible.


The second term is MOOCs, or massively open online sources, are described by Science Direct [2] as "open-access online courses that allow for unlimited participation." This is a feat only possible with our modern ability to send information across the internet, to share it with everybody outside of the form factor of a book. There are many examples of this we have all already engaged with, most notably to me being free-use YouTube videos. Sure, they are not really courses, but educational content still provides an end to learn, and many have begun using services such as SkillShare.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

21 Week 10 Progress Report

Where should you be in your research journey? Are you there? I have completed my research journey. With my paper complete and a...

20 - Week 9 Journal

Q: What advantages does research offer to the decision-maker over seat-of-the-pants decision making? A: To answer this question, I want...

Comments


bottom of page