top of page
  • micahwegeleben

4 - Week 2 Progress Report

  • At this point, your topic should be a fully-fledged question ready to be researched. You need to have identified how you will pursue your research (literature search, surveys, experiments/experience). Include that information in your progress report.

  • Where should you be in your research journey? Are you there?

  • What issues did you hit, and what is your plan to overcome them?

  • What did you do to make progress this week? Is it more, or less, than you expected to do (use last week's items to guide this)

  • What do you expect to do next week?


How Has Technology Changed the Way We Teach?


My research journey has just begun, and I am in the discovery phase. I believe I am where I need to be. I am asking questions, I am narrowing it down, and I am deciding upon what parts of my topic are most worth looking into. I have yet to run into any issues, but I have made some progress in terms of research. First of all, I have thought about what types of technology I want to look into in regard to their effects on education. The calculator, the internet, the spell check, and finally AI.


Although it may be backward, I have begun my research into AI first by reaching out to an AI ambassador here at Olympic College: Justin Lewis. I have sent him an email asking to get in touch with him so that he may be a good source for my questions, or may guide me in the right direction.


I have taken a technical writing course with Professor Lewis and in that time I learned a lot about him. He is a professional, forthright, and deeply earnest man who cherishes learning for the sake of knowing. He has taken it upon himself - alongside Stephen Foster and others - to look into and learn about AI and its eventual use cases in education. While I do not know what I want to ask him just yet, I know that he is an invaluable asset to my project.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

21 Week 10 Progress Report

Where should you be in your research journey? Are you there? I have completed my research journey. With my paper complete and a...

20 - Week 9 Journal

Q: What advantages does research offer to the decision-maker over seat-of-the-pants decision making? A: To answer this question, I want...

Comments


bottom of page