top of page
  • micahwegeleben

21 Week 10 Progress Report

Where should you be in your research journey? Are you there?

  • I have completed my research journey. With my paper complete and a presentation was given on it, the final thing for me to do is work on my publication.


What issues did you hit, and what is your plan to overcome them?

  • I did not run into any issues. I got my paper in early for a review by my professor.


What did you do to make progress this week? Is it more, or less, than you expected to do (use last week's items to guide this)

  • This week I gave a presentation on my paper to my peers.


What was the most surprising thing you learned about research this term?

  • What I found while writing my paper in regards to research is that more is not always better. A strategy I used is one I am ultimately regretting, which is to find papers or articles and to pull just a small amount of information from it. What I wished I did instead was to keep my focus on 3-4 papers and to concretely connect them and find a common ground of research and fact.


How will you make use of this research in your future CIS career?

  • To relate this research project to a more fundamental CIS level, I found that technology is getting older by the year. In the grand scheme of things, the last fifty years of research and technology is a short amount of time. But, given the lifespan of a human, the rate at which it changes is phenomenal. From the calculator to Google, to ChatGPT, I found that progress continues to march forward and the last thing we should let ourselves succumb to is stagnation. I will use one specific skill I learned in this class for the rest of my life: check in on your progress, create milestones, and to always do SOMETHING to move yourself forward. The little efforts we make along the way add up in tremendous quantity.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

20 - Week 9 Journal

Q: What advantages does research offer to the decision-maker over seat-of-the-pants decision making? A: To answer this question, I want...

19 - Week 9 Progress Report

Where should you be in your research journey (refer back to the modified plan you provided in week 6)? Are you there? I should be done...

Comments


bottom of page